MOSCOW, November 7. /TASS/. Russia’s innovation to introduce the so-called Fan-IDs during the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup and the 2018 FIFA World Cup proved to be a success and will provide in the future for a greater flexibility in the security provision of international tournaments, Germany’s chief police officer said on Wednesday.

German Federal Police Chief Dieter Romann attended on Wednesday in Moscow the 17th Meeting of Heads of Special Services, Security and Law Enforcement Agencies from Russian Federal Security Service (FSB) partner states.

“I believe that this practice will provide for a greater flexibility and we will be making use of such tools,” Romann told journalists on the sidelines of the meeting adding that Fan-IDs may be used during the 2020 UEFA Euro Cup matches.

Russia came up for this FIFA World Cup with an innovation, which is the so-called Fan-ID and it was required for all ticketholders. This innovation was successfully tested during the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup in Russia and earned high marks from the world’s governing football body.

The Fan-ID played an important security role during the major football tournament in Russia as it granted admittance to the stadiums and also served as visa for foreign visitors to enter the country.

A Fan-ID holder was allowed to enter the country without having a Russian visa and stay for the duration of the global football tournament. Fan-IDs were obligatory, in addition to purchased tickets, in order to attend matches of the 2018 World Cup tournament in Russia.

2020 UEFA Euro Cup

The decision to hold the 2020 Euro Cup, which will be celebrating its 60th anniversary that year, in various European countries instead of in one or two hosting countries was made at the UEFA Executive Committee’s meeting in Lausanne, Switzerland, on December 6, 2012.

The matches of the 2020 Euro Cup will be held at stadiums in cities of 12 different European countries, namely in London (England), Munich (Germany), Rome (Italy), Baku (Azerbaijan), Saint Petersburg (Russia), Bucharest (Romania), Amsterdam (The Netherlands), Dublin (Ireland), Bilbao (Spain), Budapest (Hungary), Glasgow (Scotland) and Copenhagen (Denmark).

A total of 24 national football teams will be playing in the final tournament of the 2020 Euro Cup. All 55 UEFA national member teams, including 12 teams from the hosting countries, will have to play in the qualifying matches to vie for the berth in the final 24-team lineup of the quadrennial European football championship.

It is possible that some of the national teams from the hosting countries of the 2020 Euro Cup will not be playing in home soil in case they fail to clear the qualifying stage. The Qualifying Draw for the 2020 UEFA Euro Cup is scheduled to take place at the Convention Center Dublin, Ireland, on December 2, 2018.

Read the original article in full at TASS

Article Sourced via TASS


Russian News Agency, founded in 1902. TASS is the leading Russian state information agency, a legend of national news journalism. With us news becomes stories and events become history.
Follow Me:

Related Posts